Parenting Styles

How to raise your kids?  Hmmm well my husband and I thought we had pretty similar ideas of raising our children.  We knew we wanted to teach her about God and Jesus and the Bible.  We knew we wanted to teach her  manners and obedience.  We knew that we wanted to teach her about expectations and meeting them.  While all those concepts are still important they really don’t apply to a 4 1/2 month old.  However what is important: answering her cry’s, better yet picking up on her cues so there is no need to cry,  ANTI CIO (cry it out), baby wearing (bonding, building trust and comfort for baby) as soon as I get my new carrier ; ), co-sleeping  (very safe if done correctly) , breast feeding ( so glad that I made it past the first 2 months, the best thing EVER), cloth diapering (personal choice to save money, the environment and better for baby).  I have also said that I was not comfortable with putting my children in day care.  There is nothing wrong with day cares, this is  a personal choice that I have made and I am willing to sacrifice in order to see that it doesn’t happen.  Day cares work for some people and are necessary for others.  I just know they are NOT for me.  In the end I just go with my gut instinct and pray that the decisions I make will help her grow into a happy, healthy, productive adult.  We will just have to ask her in 20 years what she thinks : )

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mabel S Mastro
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 09:40:22

    I agree with you 100%. We never put the girls in day care. They were with one of us always. We raised the girls just about the way you are going to raise her and both of ours are great young ladys. They both love God and both have men who love God too what more could a mother ask for. Always do what your heart and gut tells you to do they will never stear you wrong. I think that is God talking to us moms.
    God Bless,
    Mother Bear

    Reply

  2. Jesus the Christ
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 10:21:59

    Teach her the Kingdom of God, which is here and now for all who can hear, rather than obedience. Trust me.

    J

    Reply

  3. Krista
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 12:08:39

    I never knew we had the same outlook on parenting styles. There’s not many of us out there so it’s nice to talk with other friends that believe in it. 🙂 You’re such a great mother Jen. Brielle will love everything you have done for her and she will follow in your footsteps and become a very strong woman one day.

    Reply

  4. Nikki
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 23:04:51

    check out Attachment Parenting 🙂 That’s kinda what you call us crunchy moms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

