bumGenius 4.0, the ultimate night time diaper…

As a fairly new cloth diapering mama I realized really quickly that I needed a diaper that was going to last through the night for my 4 1/2 month old.  Our other diaper were not going to cut it.  I decided that I was going to give the Bum Genius 4.o a shot.  It worked out great because kellyscloset.com was having a deal that if you ordered $35 worth of merchandise they would send you a free cloth diaper…score!  So I ordered a butternut bumGenius 4.0 One-Size  Stay-dry cloth diaper with snaps for $17.95.  The diaper came with  two inserts, a one-size and a newborn.  I washed the diaper as recommended by the manufacturer and got it on my girls bum as soon as I could.

The diaper is beautiful.  I love the color.  I typically go for girly bold, patterned colored diapers but love this soft yellow ; )  I also like the “feel” of the diaper.  The real test, how long would it last? My daughter typically sleeps from about 9:30pm until about 7:00am with a couple of snacks in between.  She hates her diaper changed in the middle of the night, hence the need for a long-lasting night-time diaper .  I put the diaper on her around 8:30pm and put her to bed at her usual time and she woke up around 7am.  The diaper worked!  She, the bed, and her cloths were dry!  Woo Hoo!  Less laundry for mama! Bonus, the free cloth diaper was another bumGenius 4.0!

Overall rating:  4.75 out of 5 stars

-I would highly recommend this diaper to my friends.

Cost: 4 out of 5 stars

-One of the most expensive diapers I own.  I would have more but I can’t afford to so I will stick to the two I have and use them for my night-time diapers.

Performance: 5 out of 5

-10+hours!

Fit: 5 out of 5

-Some of my other diapers tend to be too bulky with two stuffers but this fit nicely and appeared to be comfortable for my little chunky thighed girl.

Care:  5 out of 5

-Nothing but the usual, cold rinse->cloth diaper detergent/hot water->second rinse->line or tumble dry (although the inserts to require two rounds in the dryer to get dry).

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 22:54:09

    We love our Bums too. They last a long time and are easy to resell. What detergent do you use? We use Rocking Green Hard Rock. It’s great!

    Reply

  2. Krista
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 12:59:55

    I’ve been wanting to try one of these out but I couldn’t bring myself to pay that much money on one diaper! But I’ve heard all great reviews for using them over-night. I will now purchase one. 🙂 Thanks for your input! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Nikki
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 22:52:46

    My friend owns a diaper buisness in Orlando called Wee Willie Winks. She gives out free samples of rocking green. They also sell samples on the rocking green web site for under $5 if you want to try it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

